Healthy Eating

Estimated Reading Time < 1 Minutes

Eating nutritious food shouldn’t stop after you give birth.

It’s important for new mothers to get plenty of rest and to follow a balanced diet. Take a look at Canada’s Food Guide to Healthy Eating. It outlines four important food groups:

1. Grains.

This includes cereal, breads, pasta and rice.

2. Vegetables and fruit.

Most Canadians need to eat more of these foods.

3. Milk and milk products.

Breastfeeding women need three to four servings a day.

4. Meat and alternatives.

We only need two to three servings per day from this food group. One to two eggs or two tablespoons of peanut butter are examples of one serving.

The quantity of food you need from each of the four food groups depends on your age, body size, activity level and whether you are pregnant or breastfeeding. Thats why the Guide recommends a low to high range of servings for each food group.

Published in March 2007

Related Articles

Made Possible With The Support Of Ontario Creates